Ohio Requirements: (http://www.buckeyefirearms.org/ohio-ccw-application-checklist
"Applying for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License can be confusing. However, if you follow this Ohio CCW Application Checklist, you can make the process faster and easier.
1. Make sure you meet the basic requirements before applying for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License:
* You must be at least 21 years of age.
* You must be an Ohio resident for at least 45 days.
* You must be a resident of the county of application (or an adjacent county) for at least 30 days.
2. Find a qualified CCW instructor and complete the required 12-hour course to obtain your Certificate of Competency.
* Your Certificate of Competency must be no more than 3 years old to qualify for a concealed handgun license. If you apply for your concealed handgun license prior to one year of issuance, your training competency certificate will also be good for your first renewal of your license, five years later.
* You may also present documentation that proves you are an active or reserve member of the U.S. Military, you have been honorably discharged from the U.S. Military within the past 6 years, or you a retired law enforcement officer and have experience handling handguns that is equivalent to the training requirements.
3. Read the Attorney General's pamphlet on Ohio's concealed carry laws. You should get a printed copy during your training course.
4. Locate the sheriff's office in your county (or an adjacent county) and pick up an application for an Ohio Concealed Handgun License. OR locate the sheriff's or Attorney General's Web site and download the application.
NOTE: Do NOT bring a firearm with you when picking up your application.
5. Have a passport-sized (2" x 2") color photo taken within 30 days of your application date. You may get a passport-sized photo at many photo shops, drug stores, groceries, Kinko's, and similar businesses that handle photo development. Most Sheriff's Departments will also accept a good quality colored photo taken with a digital camera and printed off of a color printer.
6. Call the sheriff's office to make an appointment to apply for your license.
7. Take your documents to the sheriff's office and apply for your license. As part of your application, you must:
* Present your completed application, Certificate of Competency (or documentation of equivalent experience), and passport sized color photo.
* Present a valid photo I.D., such as your driver's license.
* Pass a criminal background check and mental competency check.
* Submit to having your fingerprints electronically scanned or inked and rolled onto a card.
* Attest that you have read the Attorney General's pamphlet on Ohio's concealed carry laws.
* Pay a non-refundable fee by cash, money order, or certified check made payable to your sheriff's office. The fee is $67.00 if you have been an Ohio resident for more than five years, $92.00 if less than five years."
As ex-US Army Infantryman it was unclear in Ohio (no matter who I called) if your DD214 takes place of your 12-hour course to obtain your Certificate of Competency, (although is does say "documentation that proves you are an active or reserve member of the U.S. Military, you have been honorably discharged from the U.S. Military within the past 6 years (which I was)") so I took the course for $100